Dec. 8, 2014….The Work Moves Forward in Valle

¡Buenas tardes familia!

Glad to hear that everyone is doing well!  Sounds like Utah is experimenting some warm weather right now when supposedly we are now entering into winter.  Seems like the same is happening here.  A week or so ago, we were feeling some cold winds during the nights, but those have disappeared and now it is just a little chilly waking up in the morning.  I guess we will just have to get used to weird weather changes because I think we will be seeing more of them in the future.
Things have gone well this week.  Although we did have some setbacks yesterday, we are still doing well and are working hard.  Some of our investigators didn’t show up to church yesterday, so we are going to be visiting them to see why they couldn’t make it.  One of our investigators, Pedro, was on date for the 19th, but because he didn’t attend yesterday, we will have to push his date back now.  We have another investigator, Laura, who has been attending church now for a few months and we hope to convince her to be baptized this month.  We are not quite sure yet why she has been holding off on getting baptized, so we need to talk more with her.
Thursday, we had splits with our Zone Leaders.  Right now, my Zone Leaders are Elder Brown and ElderLoya.  I don’t know if you remember, but Elder Loya was my District Leader when I first arrived in San Felipe.  He came to work with me here in my area while Elder Mayo went with Elder Brown.  It was good to see Elder Loya again and spend some time working with him.  We got some good work done and he helped me see a few things that I can improve on.  Elder Loya also had the chance to meet a member who works atIPN, a famous university that is located here in Mexico City, while he was with me in my area.  Elder Loyawants to study there after the mission, and so he was really excited when we talked with the sister that works there.
This week, Elder Mayo and I will be focusing on finding new investigators to teach.  We had some neat experiences Saturday night as the Spirit was able to inspire my companion to take us to the house of an investigator (that I haven’t met yet).  We knocked on the door and talked with the mom who answered.  Sharing a little bit about how our message strengthens families, we set an appointment to return.  We also met a man on the street who told us about how he has some friends who are missionaries.  We went to his house yesterday and left a pamphlet of the Plan of Salvation with him.
Well, unfortunately I have run out of time.  I wish everyone a great week and I hope that you all stay safe.  I know that Christ lives and that this is His work and His church.  Especially around this time of the year, we need to remember the sacrifice that He made for all of us and the example that he has given us.  He is truly God’s greatest gift to the world.  I know that the gospel has been restored to the earth in these last days by the Prophet Joseph Smith.  In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.
With love,
Elder Tyler Gardner
Post a Comment

