The Sands of Time Run Ever Faster ……November 3, 2014

¡Buenas tardes familia!

Aquí estamos a otro lunes y octubre ya se desapareció.  La arena en el reloj esta desapareciendo mas y mas rápido a medida que vayamos acercando al fin del año.  A veces uno quiere voltear el reloj y empezar de nuevo, pero estoy feliz con lo que ha pasado y quiero seguir adelante desde donde estoy.  El día de mi regreso a casa vendrá como un ladrón en el noche, entonces necesito seguir trabajando aquí y hacer todo lo que puedo con el tiempo que me queda.
Translation:
Here we are to another Monday and October has disappeared.  The sand in the sand dial is disappearing faster and faster as we get closer to the end of the year.  At times, one wants to turn the sand dial over and start all over, but I am happy with what has happened and want to continue forward from where I am.  The day that I return home will come like a robber in the night, so I need to keep working here and do all that I can during the time that I have left.
Yes, we are indeed into November.  We are happy to have started this month off with a baptism, and we hope to have a couple more this month.  We baptized Mario yesterday right after the meeting block, and the baptismal service went great!  I can’t remember if I mentioned this already (I think that I did…) but the Sisters first found Mario and started teaching him in his work.  They passed him to us because he lives in our area, but since they started the teaching, they also came to the baptism.  Mario is a great guy and we hope that he ends up serving a mission because he has said before that he would like to.  Although Mario works a lot, he has made time to attend church and take the lessons, which really shows his preparation.
In other news this week, we have survived the Dia de los Muertos celebrations.  Saturday,  basically all of the children who live here in San Felipe were out on the avenue collecting candy in their little calaberitas.  Here in Mexico, all of the kids go trick-or-treating November first because it is supposedly the day of the children.  Instead of saying “trick or treat” like we do in the U.S. the kids here say “¿me da para mi calaberita?”.  Parents were out with their children in swarms and it was hard to find anyone at home after 6pm, but we managed.  Just imagine the neighborhood on Halloween night, but with ten times as many people.
Now that Halloween is passed, the next big ‘holliday’ here is December 12th, or the day of the virgin Guadalupe, so things will hopefully be peaceful for a few weeks.  This week, we will be having our Zone Conference with Elder Valenzuela.  I will let you know next week how things go with that and what all I learn.
I should probably say this more, way more, but thanks to everyone who has written me letters or emails!  Sometimes I don’t have the chance to individually reply, but I do appreciate the letters.  Today, I received an email from Mr. Eady and I am still receiving Sister Porter’s letters among those that I have received from family.
Well, time to close up.  Have a great week and I hope all goes well!  I know that Christ lives and that this is His church.  The Book of Mormon is indeed another testament of Jesus Christ that contains the fullness of the gospel.  All whom read it and ask God if it is true can and will receive an answer.  That is the invitation and the promise.  The Spirit testifies of all truth and any man who is willing to listen to the Spirit will indeed receive the light that they seek.  In the name of Jesus Christ, amen.
Sincerely,
Elder Tyler Gardner
            Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 9.07.49 PM

Post a Comment

