Multi Zone Conference and the Devotional … Dec. 9, 2013

¿Qué tal familia?
Sounds like the snow has finally blown in this year.  I am sitting here comfortably with what I would call spring time weather.  It might get down to around 50 Fahrenheit some nights, but that is the extent of the ‘cold weather’ that we are having here.  As for snow… I do not expect to see any snow for roughly two years.  I sort of laugh when my companion has to wrap up in a blanket during our studies some mornings because he is cold.  I expect that Elder Dunyon and Elder O’Neill will be seeing the other end of the spectrum soon.
This week, we had a Multi Zone Conference with President Benjamin De Hoyos, the first counselor in our Area Presidency.  He talked to us about how we need to be working with the members in our areas.  One of the things that President De Hoyos told us we need to do is convert referrals into invites.  An invite is better than a referral.
  • Referral – a member or non member gives us information of some one that they think we should contact and we contact them
  • Invite – the member contacts and invites a friend and introduces them to us
  • Invite > Referral
The critical difference is how the member is involved.  If the member takes the initiative to invite someone (even if they have to be encouraged a little), they are more likely to be side by side throughout the teaching process with the person they invited.
Yesterday, we also had the opportunity to go to our Stake Center and watch the First Presidency Christmas Devotional.  The Devotional was broadcast over the Church Satellite Network just like Conference.  It was great to have the opportunity to listen to the Prophet again and listen to the other speakers as well as the music.
Things continue to go well here.  We still have not received information on how Christmas is going to work out for us.  I am fairly sure that we will have the chance to do a skype call.  Transfers are Tuesday next week, and I am fairly sure that I will be transferred this time around (now that I have been here for just about 6 months).
Well, it is time for me to wrap up now.  Before I close, I would like to say that I know that this is His church and His work.  The time has indeed come to hasten the work of salvation (D&C 88:73-74).  There is no greater call for us today.  May we be ever more aware that Christ’s coming grows closer and closer.
Sincerely,
Elder Tyler Gardner
  DSC00198DSC00199
Pictures:
  1. My companion, Elder Alfaro, catching a minute to relax
  2. Do I need to explain the second picture?
Post a Comment

