December? Really? …. Dec. 2, 2013

Sorry everyone, I kind of forgot to post this one from last week. I only realized it when I went to post the Dec.  9 letter….. oops…
¡Buenas tardes!
Here we are, another week and into December.  Can you believe that it is December already?  I don’t know if I can.  Here in Mexico, there are not many signs of the season that I am used to seeing.  There are no mountains with trees that change color in the fall.  There is no snow that falls as winter arrives.  The air does get a little colder, but the sun stays warm.  You can feel the heat of the sun beating down on you during the day and feel the cool, brisk wind blow in your face, different from what we are used to in Utah.
Well, before I get into the events of this past week, let me clear up/correct something that I talked about in my last email.  The water.  After hearing more about the situation this week, I am fairly sure that I was wrong about the water ‘rationing’.  Yes, the water supply is being rationed a bit (water only arrives to fill our cistern every Wed-Fri), but the problem these past few weeks has not been the result of further rationing.  Rather, the main water supply plant for Mexico City is under repairs currently, so there is not much pressure in the system.  So far until now, water has freely fallen into the cistern every week, but we now have to actively pump the water.  So, once the plant is repaired, pressure should be restored and all will be back to normal.  Until then, we will be employing our handy dandy electric water pump.
Now that I have corrected myself, let me tell you a little about my week.
We have seen a bit of improvement in our area this week.  We received some references of a few new investigators and have had some lessons this week that went well.  Also this week, we worked to share Elder Netzacoyatl’s challenge with all of the members in our area who didn’t attend the stake conference and are following up on commitments.  Today, we had a Zone service project in our area.  Some of us helped one member knock out part of a Wall, and others helped a family move some things in their house.  The now open wall will become a small ‘tienda’ in the next few weeks.  I think the Elders in my Zone liked using the sledge hammers a little bit too much, but all was kept under control and turned out well if I do say so myself.
Well, to close, I would like to say that I know that this is the true and restored church of Jesus Christ. This is indeed his gospel and the Book of Mormon is clear evidence of the restoration.  The message of the gospel is for everybody.  Remember how privileged and blessed we are to be members of His church in these latter days.
Sincerely,
Elder Tyler Gardner
Post a Comment

